FAME’s Women in Medicine and Science Committee (WIMS) was started to help the advancement of women in The Ohio State University College of Medicine. Goals of this committee are to identify and actively reduce barriers to the professional success of women in medicine and science, focusing on equity and parity, promotion and leadership; implement and disseminate resources for mentoring, sponsorship and career development programs; improve the health and well-being of all faculty through aligning career goals with work-life balance; and foster a positive culture and environment that supports the goals of all faculty in medicine and science.


To promote equity and advancement for faculty in the College of Medicine at The Ohio State University by cultivating awareness, advocating for change, and empowering women faculty to achieve personal and professional fulfillment.

WIMS Steering Committee Members

  • Clara Lee, MD, MPP, FAME Director of WIMS, Associate Professor of Plastic Surgery
  • Zarine Shah, MBBS, Associate Director of WIMS, Associate Professor of Radiology
  • Megan Ballinger PhD, Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
  • Erica Bell, PhD, Associate Professor of Neurology
  • Brandon Biesiadecki, PhD, Associate Professor of Physiology and Cell Biology
  • Gloria Fleming, MD, Professor of Ophthalmology
  • Luanne Hall-Stoodley, PhD, Research Associate Professor of Microbial Infection & Immunity
  • Andrea Johnson, MD, Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
  • Erika Kemp, OTD, OTR/L, BCP, Assistant Professor of Health & Rehab Sciences
  • Vivien Lee, MD, Associate Professor of Neurology
  • Shraddha Mainali, MD, Assistant Professor of Neurology
  • Susan Massick, MD, Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
  • Bethany Panchal, MD, Associate Professor of Family Medicine
  • Arwa Shana'ah, MD, Associate Professor of Pathology

WIMS Subcommittees and Members


  • Co-chairs, Shraddha Mainali MD and Susan Massick MD
  • Executive Sponsors: Deb Larsen PhD
  • Members: Anita Afzali MD, Shraddha Mainali MD, Tamar Gur MD PhD, Courtney Collins MD, Jennifer McCallister MD, Jill Rafael-Fortney PhD, Leah Pyter PhD, Kristen Cole, Leslie Kim MD, Gloria Fleming, MD


  • Co-Chairs Arwa Shana’ah MD and Erika Kemp OTD, OTR/L, BCP
  • Executive Sponsors: Wendy Frankel MD, Sheryl Pfeil MD
  • Members: Kedryn Baskin PhD, Maya Iyer MD, Carolyn Presley MD and Allison Quick MD


  • Co-chairs Luanne Hall-Stoodley PhD and Bethany Panchal MD
  • Executive Sponsors: Susan Koletar MD, Tatiana Oberyszyn PhD
  • Members: Brandon Biesiadecki PhD, Sarah Heissler PhD, Ana Sarkar PhD, Shasha Bai PhD, Sonal Pannu MBBS, Shu-Hua Wang MD MPH, Anne Sullivan MD


  • Co-Chairs Erica Bell PhD and Andrea Johnson MD
  • Members: Sarita Maturu DO, Aubrey Moe PhD, Meng Welliver MD, Mitva Patel MD


  • Co-chairs Vivien Lee MD and Megan Ballinger PhD
  • Members: James MacDonald MD MPH, Molly Howsare DO

Advisory Board

  • Lauren Bakaletz, PhD, College of Medicine Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics
  • Linda Cripe, MD, Professor of Clinical Pediatrics
  • Wendy Frankel, MD, Professor and Chair of Pathology
  • Mary Fristad, PhD, ABPP, Professor of Psychiatry
  • Janice Kiecolt-Glaser, PhD, Distinguished University Professor, Director, Institute for Behavioral Medicine Research
  • Susan Koletar, MD, Professor, Chief; Division of Infectious Diseases
  • Deborah Larsen, PhD, Professor, Director, School of Health & Rehabilitation Sciences
  • Tatiana Oberyszyn, PhD, Professor of Pathology
  • J. Nwando Olayiwola, MD, MPH, FAAFP
  • Sheryl Pfeil, MD, Professor of Clinical Internal Medicine
  • Cheryl Lee, MD, Professor and Chair of the Department of Urology
  • Ronald Harter, MD, Professor and Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology
  • Timothy Pawlik, MD, MPH, PhD, Professor and Chair of the Department of Surgery

Ex Officio Members

  • Philip Binkley, MD, MPH, Director, Center for FAME, Professor of Internal Medicine
  • Debbie Pond, Program Manager, Center for FAME
  • Emma Tippett, Program Coordinator, Center for FAME
More from WIMS

More from WIMS

Share this page