Ohio State Navbar

Sign In


FAMEPRO is a mentored short clinical research project competition open to early career faculty in The Ohio State University College of Medicine. This funding and mentorship mechanism will provide assistance to faculty members to conduct and complete pilot research projects and to prepare and disseminate result through clinical scholarship. 



Projects must be patient-oriented, clinical or translational. For example, the project could involve patient care, clinical teaching, quality improvement, or innovation. Proposals must be able to be completed within 9 months and abstracts will be due June 1, 2020. Collaboration within or outside the department is highly encouraged and will make your application more competitive. 


FAMEPRO Program requirements:


Faculty with the rank of Assistant Professor with a primary appointment in a College of Medicine department. Past FAMEPRO participants are not eligible as primary applicant.​ 

Selection Process:

The FAMEPRO subcommittee will evaluate the proposals based on their potential for clinical scholarship, scope, ability to be completed within the timeframe, collaboration, innovation and departmental support.

Award:  Up to 12 proposals will awarded the following:

  1. Funding (up to $1,250 based on project need) with their department matching funds
  2. Additional CCTS vouchers worth up to $3000 in core services such as Biostatistics & Clinical Research Center
  3. Dedicated mentorship support from a faculty member with experience in clinical research and scholarship
  4. Technical assistance as needed, e.g. IRB applications, IHIS data access
  5. Facilitation of interdisciplinary collaboration
  6. Skill development courses and progress meetings facilitated by experts
  7. Abstract and manuscript preparation assistance and guidance
  8. Certificates will be awarded to all participants and mentors of completed projects
  9. The top three projects will be presented during a FAMEPRO Grand Rounds. All three finalists will be awarded prizes and will receive recognition. The FAME Clinical Project Champion Award will be given to the winning project.​

Please contact Anil Agarwal, MD, Director for Clinical Scholarship, Center for FAME, at anil.agarwal@osumc.edu with questions. 


How to Apply:

The application window will open Summer 2020 for the next cohort.
August 21: Notice of awards.​

After completing your application, please send this link​ to your division director or chair to certify your eligibility to participate. 

FAME Clinical Scholarship Committee members:

  • Anil Agarwal, MD, FAME Director for Clinical Scholarship
  • Dustin Chase, MD, Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
  • Lanla Conteh, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
  • Daniel Eiferman, MD, Associate Professor of Surgery
  • Courtney Hebert, MD, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Informatics
  • John Larry, MD, Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
  • Zaibo Li, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pathology
  • Shraddha Mainali, MD, Assistant Professor of Neurology
  • Tanya Matthew, BDS, MD, Pilot Translational & Clinical Studies Program Administrator, CCTS
  • Jose Moreno, PhD, Assistant Professor for Psychiatry and Behavioral Health
  • Anjali Satoskar, MD, Associate Professor of Pathology

Ex-officio Members:

  • Heather Brod, Executive Director, Center for FAME
  • Philip Binkley, MD, MPH, Director, Center for FAME, Professor of Internal Medicine
  • Debbie Pond, Program Manager, Center for FAME​
  • Emma Tippett, Program Coordinator, Center for FAME