Ohio State Navbar

Sign In

John Gunn, PhD, Interim Chair

Professor and Interim Chair, Microbial Infection and Immunity

Director, Biomedical Science Undergraduate Program

Courtesy appointments:  
Microbiology
Infectious Diseases
Molecular Virology, Immunology & Medical Genetics

Contact information:​
794 Biomedical Research Tower (BRT)
460 W 12th Ave, Columbus OH 43210
Phone: (614) 292-6036​


Research Interests

Dr. Gunn's laboratory is primarily interested in Salmonella research related to: (1) in vivo induced LPS modifications and their effect on bacterial innate immune resistance and bacterial/LPS recognition by the host, (2) the establishment and maintenance of the asymptomatic carriage state of Salmonella spp. in the human gallbladder. Our Francisella work is focused on understanding regulatory factors important to virulence gene induction, intramacrophage survival and virulence. In addition, we are interested in the biology and role in virulence of the four Francisella acid phosphatases. Regarding both Salmonella and Francisella spp, we are investigati​ng new live, attenuated vaccines and small molecule therapeutics to advance treatment/prevention of disease.

​​​​​​

Laboratory:  750 Biomedical Research Tower, 614-292-7998

Personnel

​Natalie Cervelli ​Undergraduate ​cervelli.1@osu.edu

Brad Eichar

Undergraduate

eichar.5@osu.edu

Juan Gonzalez

Postdoctoral Researcher

juan.gonzalezparedes@osumc.edu

​Mark Hahn Graduate Student​ mark.hahn@osumc.edu​
​Regan Hitt ​Research Assistant ​regan.hitt@osumc.edu

Ky Van Hoang

Research Scientist

hoang.76@osu.edu

Victoria Kocsuta

Volunteer

kocsuta.2@osu.edu

​Laura Kuo ​Volunteer kuo.197@osu.edu​
​Lauren Tucker ​Volunteer ​​tucker.659@osu.edu

Erin Vasicek

Research Associate

erin.vasicek@osumc.edu

 

 

​​​​​​​​