Ohio State Navbar

Sign In

RSS Feed College of Medicine News

Denman Forum Announces Award Winners 


Wednesday, May 9, marked the 17th annual Richard J. and Martha D. Denman Undergraduate Research Forum. The Denman Forum provides students an opportunity to share their research with members and friends of the Ohio State and Wexner Medical Center community while recognizing the significant contributions to research made by OSU undergraduates.
Seven College of Medicine students and six students in the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences were among the award winners. In the Health Professions - Laboratory/Cellular category, the winners are:
- Ronald Siebenaler: Efficacy of Epigenetic Modifiers and a Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor in Acute Myeloid Leukemia
- Mark Doles: Modification and Application of Ciliary Signaling Sensors
- Daniel Yanes: Mll-PTD is Capable of Salvaging Hematopoeisis in Adult Mice Lacking Mll-WT Expression
- Eric Bolin: Zinc Deficiency in the Context of Obesity
- Tiffany Wang: The Role of Programmed Cell Death 4 in the Pathogenesis of Uveal Melanoma
- Carlee Schaefer: Use of TAP-tagged HSV-1 Protein to Identify Novel Protein Interactions
In the Health Professions – Clinical category, the winners are:
- Christine Fahy: Sonographic Evaluation of CTS Compared to NCS: A Pilot Study
- Gina Verhoff: Xbox 360: KINECTed WITH FITNESS
- Alisha Kamboj: Childhood Feeding Practices and Diarrheal Disease in Northern India
- Daniel Thorson: A Comparison of Lesion Volume and Motor Capability Tests in Stroke Survivors
- Tina Glade, Sophia Shirdon, Aaron Cortes: The Effects of Abnormal Blood Pressure on Arterial Sampler Filling Times
The winning medical students and health and rehabilitation sciences students were among approximately 600 other students from across campus who presented their research accomplishments with poster presentations in the following categories: Agriculture and Environmental Science, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Education, Engineering, Health Professions (Clinical, Laboratory, and Cellular), Humanities, Mathematics, Psychology, and Social Science.
Upon judges’ review, students’ presentations were assessed points based primarily on clarity, knowledge of the subject matter, and poise in answering questions. Students with the highest scores in each category received a cash award.
The Denman Undergraduate Research Forum was created in 1996 and is a cooperative effort of The Ohio State University's Honors & Scholars Center, The Undergraduate Research Office, and The Office of Research. The Forum is an opportunity to showcase outstanding student research and encourage all undergraduates to participate in research as a value-added element of their education.
Learn more about the forum and view a full list of award winners.


Posted on 17-May-12 by Bohlander, Beth
Trackback Url  |  Link to this post | Bookmark this post with: