Providing high-quality, specialized care

APPs are critical members of the health care team at Ohio State, central Ohio’s top-ranked medical center. They ensure that the diverse and complex patients we serve receive the best possible care in all stages of life.

From primary care to specialty and sub-specialty care, APPs practice in virtually every clinical area across the health system in dynamic environments, practicing evidence-based medicine at the forefront of their specialties.

Who are advanced practice providers?

Certified nurse practitioners

Certified nurse practitioners (CNPs) are clinicians who blend clinical expertise in diagnosing and treating health conditions with an added emphasis on disease prevention and health management. They must complete a master's or doctoral degree program and have advanced clinical training beyond their initial professional registered nurse (RN) preparation. Didactic and clinical courses prepare nurses with specialized knowledge and clinical competency to practice in primary care, acute care and long-term health care settings.

Physician assistants

Physician Assistants (PAs) are medical professionals with an advanced degree who diagnose illnesses, develop and manage treatment plans, prescribe medications, and assist in surgical procedures. PAs work in both inpatient and outpatient clinical settings in collaboration with the medical team. PAs practice in every state and in every medical specialty, improving health care access and quality. At The Ohio State University, PAs have many opportunities for participation in research, unique educational experiences and clinical advancement.

Certified nurse-midwives

Certified nurse-midwives (CNMs) provide a full range of primary health care services for women from adolescence beyond menopause. These services include the independent provision of primary care, gynecologic and family planning services, preconception care, care during pregnancy, childbirth and the postpartum period, care of the normal newborn during the first 28 days of life, and treatment of male partners for sexually transmitted infections.

Clinical nurse specialists

Clinical nurse specialists (CNSs) provide diagnosis, treatment and ongoing management of patients. They also provide expertise and support to nurses caring for patients at the bedside, help drive practice changes throughout the organization, and ensure the use of best practices and evidence-based care to achieve the best possible patient outcomes.

Certified registered nurse anesthetists

Certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs) are advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) who practice both autonomously and in collaboration with a variety of health providers on the interprofessional team to deliver high-quality, holistic, evidence-based anesthesia and pain care services. The CRNA cares for patients at all acuity levels across the lifespan in a variety of settings for procedures including, but not limited to, surgical, obstetrical, diagnostic, therapeutic and pain management.