Ohio State Navbar

Sign In

RSS Feed College of Medicine News

Essig and Hitchcock Receive 2012 Faculty Teaching Awards from Medical Alumni Society 


​The 2012 Faculty Teaching Awards were given to Dr. Garth Essig Sr. and Dr. Charles Hitchcock at the Honors Convocation Ceremony in the Ohio Union on 061112_FacultyTeachingAwardPHOTO.jpgThursday, June 7.  Dr. Linda Stone, President of the Medical Alumni Society, proudly presented the awards to the two long standing and deserving OSU faculty members.

The Faculty Teaching Award was created in 1959 by the Medical Alumni Society to recognize faculty members who have made significant contributions to the College of Medicine’s educational mission.
Dr. Garth Essig Sr. is a 1961 graduate of the College of Medicine and completed a four year residency in Obstetrics & Gynecology, as well as cancer fellowship from the National Institute of Health at the Ohio State University Hospital. He then became a full-time faculty member as Student Clerkship Director in the Department of OB/GYN in 1970. While at OSU Dr. Essig has also served as chair of Medical Information Management and assisted with curriculum changes such as the integration of Basic Science and Clinical Medicine through the “pilot school” (now the Independent Study Program) and a ten year trial of a three year medical school. He was named Professor of the Year in 1973, and over the years has been honored with the Senior Class Teaching Award and the Excellence in Teaching Award several times. Dr. Essig retired just a few weeks ago after 47 years of service to Ohio State’s Wexner Medical Center.

Dr. Charles Hitchcock, a 1983 graduate of the College of Medicine, is an Associate Professor and Division Director of Autopsy Services within the College of Medicine.  He is also the Vice Chair of Education for the Department of Pathology.  Since 1995, when Dr. Hitchcock began working at the College of Medicine, he too has filled many positions, impacting the lives of thousands of students.  Dr. Hitchcock’s roles have included Block Leader of “The Cell, and Pathology Streamer,” in the Integrated Pathway Curriculum, Block Leader of the Pathology Independent Study Program, and Director of the Integrated Pathway Curriculum in our College of Medicine.  Dr. Hitchcock was named Professor of the Year in 2003 and has also received the Courage to Teach Award and the Distinguished Teaching Award during his time at the College of Medicine.


Posted on 14-Jun-12 by Rutan, Jessica
Trackback Url  |  Link to this post | Bookmark this post with: