Ohio State Navbar

Sign In


August 2017 (4)
July 2017 (4)
June 2017 (6)
May 2017 (1)
March 2017 (6)
January 2017 (1)
December 2016 (1)
November 2016 (3)
October 2016 (3)
September 2016 (1)
August 2016 (4)
July 2016 (5)
June 2016 (9)
May 2016 (8)
March 2016 (2)
February 2016 (4)
December 2015 (4)
November 2015 (3)
October 2015 (2)
September 2015 (4)
July 2015 (7)
June 2015 (3)
May 2015 (7)
April 2015 (3)
March 2015 (2)
February 2015 (2)
January 2015 (2)
December 2014 (3)
November 2014 (8)
October 2014 (7)
September 2014 (3)
August 2014 (7)
July 2014 (4)
June 2014 (3)
May 2014 (1)
April 2014 (3)
March 2014 (6)
February 2014 (4)
January 2014 (1)
December 2013 (6)
November 2013 (4)
October 2013 (1)
September 2013 (1)
August 2013 (9)
July 2013 (1)
June 2013 (9)
May 2013 (14)
April 2013 (13)
March 2013 (9)
February 2013 (8)
January 2013 (6)
December 2012 (7)
November 2012 (7)
October 2012 (9)
September 2012 (6)
August 2012 (12)
July 2012 (6)
June 2012 (8)
May 2012 (14)
April 2012 (7)
March 2012 (4)
February 2012 (11)
January 2012 (8)
December 2011 (5)
November 2011 (7)
October 2011 (9)
September 2011 (5)
August 2011 (3)
July 2011 (8)
June 2011 (1)
May 2011 (10)
April 2011 (4)
March 2011 (5)
February 2011 (9)
January 2011 (2)
December 2010 (2)
November 2010 (3)
September 2010 (4)
August 2010 (6)
July 2010 (6)
June 2010 (6)
May 2010 (1)
April 2010 (3)
February 2010 (3)
January 2010 (2)
December 2009 (3)
September 2009 (6)
August 2009 (1)
July 2009 (2)


RSS Feed College of Medicine News

2013 Distinguished Professor and Innovation Excellence Award Winners 


​The Ohio State University’s College of Medicine has begun presenting its 2013 faculty awards. Lauren Bakaletz, PhD; Ron Glaser, PhD; and David Schuller, MD, have received the College of Medicine’s Distinguished Professor awards, and Mark Moseley, MD, and Greg Wiet, MD, have received Innovation Excellence awards.

Lauren Bakaletz, PhD

Dr. Bakaletz is a Buckeye through and through. A full professor in the departments of Pediatrics and Otolaryngology, she attended OSU as an undergraduate, graduate and medical student and joined the OSU faculty in 1987. In a career defined by excellence and awards, a 2013 Distinguished Professor Award marks the culmination of a career that is rooted in research, teaching and mentoring.

Dr. Bakaletz’s research has been published numerous times. She has developed a vaccine to minimize ear infections that is currently in clinical trial. Dr. Bakaletz is active with the National Institutes of Health, and has mentored more than 60 trainees throughout her career.

In recommending her for this award, Dr. Bakaletz’s colleagues exhausted superlatives. There is a common thread that binds their glowing reviews together—they all see her as a visionary, able to think ahead and ask questions about her own research as well as the research of others.  This quest for excellence keeps Dr. Bakaletz on the leading edge of research and innovation.

Ron Glaser, PhD

Dr. Glaser is a professor in the Department of Molecular Virology, Immunology and Medical Genetics and director of the Institute for Behavioral Medicine Research. What defines Dr. Glaser’s career is the pioneering research he has done on the impact of stress on the immune system. In fact, his work in this area and on translational behavioral research is the preferred model of the Office of Behavioral Science at the National Institutes of Health.  

During his time at Ohio State, Dr. Glaser has received numerous awards. This is actually the second time he has earned the Distinguished Professor Award—he received it first in 1995. This demonstrates a continual and relentless devotion to efforts as a teacher and a mentor to future pioneers in the field.

David Schuller, MD

Dr. Schuller’s career is defined by professionalism, leadership and maximum effort. A graduate of Ohio State’s College of Medicine, Dr. Schuller began as a professor in the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery. After leading the OSU cancer program for nearly 20 years, in 2008 he was named vice president for Medical Center Expansion and Outreach. In this role, he drives the growth and development of the Medical Center.

Known by his colleagues for his passionate work ethic and absolute commitment to excellence, Dr. Schuller is a fundamental reason why the James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute has earned international recognition. In a career marked by achievement and advancement , it may be his dual commitment to The Ohio State University and the fight against cancer that ultimately distinguishes Dr. Schuller.

Mark Moseley, MD

A graduate of Ohio State’s College of Medicine, Dr. Moseley is an associate professor of Emergency Medicine, the assistant chief operating officer for the OUS Health System and the vice chair for Clinical Affairs. Recognized in 2010 by Business First  one of the top 40 leaders under age 40 in the community, Dr. Moseley’s ambition and passion for emergency medicine are rivaled only by his commitment to his patients.

Dr. Moseley created and implemented the After Hours Clinic at Martha Morehouse. Opened in October, 2012, the Clinic came together after a year of planning, development and marketing, led by Dr. Moseley. The After Hours Clinic provides access via evening and weekend hours to folks who may not have otherwise had access to medical care. It has already proven to be cost-effective in delivering treatment.  For this accomplishment, Dr. Moseley is certainly well-deserving of the 2013 Innovation Excellence Award.

Greg Wiet, MD

Dr. Wiet completed his residency at The Ohio State University’s College of Medicine. He is now an associate professor of Otolaryngology and of Biomedical Informatics and the director of Pediatric Otolaryngology Research at OSU. He has mentored more than 20 students and counts more than 130 published works to his credit.

What defines Dr. Wiet as an innovator is his passion for surgical simulation. Nationally and internationally, he is considered an authority on the subject. One notable innovation that Dr. Wiet fostered is a virtual temporal bone surgical simulator, which has now been studied and noted around the globe. The Innovation Excellence Award recognizes Dr. Wiet’s accomplishments, as they echo across borders.​


Posted on 14-May-13 by Geier, Eric
Trackback Url  |  Link to this post | Bookmark this post with: