The Buckeye difference

It is an exciting time to be a Buckeye surgeon with The Ohio State University Department of Surgery! Our team has much to celebrate and even more to look forward to. As a department, we strive to apply our collective values — Excellence, Integrity, Innovation, Education, Quality and Diversity — to all the work we do. Throughout this year-in-review brochure, we hope you will see how this has led to incredible new ideas in patient care, research and education in FY23.

We are tremendously proud of our awards and recognition, which place us among the top surgery departments in the country:

  • No. 8 ranking for National Institutes of Health research funding
  • No. 6 ranking for our general surgery residency program
  • Becker’s Top 100 Great Hospitals
  • Forbes America’s Best Large Employers
  • CMS five-star quality rating

What’s next for the Ohio State Department of Surgery? To start, we get closer every day to opening our new 26-story inpatient hospital. And in the meantime, we have recently added even more outpatient care locations across central Ohio, including the new James Outpatient Care location. The $356.5 million project includes outpatient operating rooms, interventional radiology rooms, an extended recovery unit, a diagnostic imaging center, a genitourinary clinic and central Ohio’s first proton therapy treatment facility, in partnership with Nationwide Children’s Hospital. When you are a Buckeye surgeon, you have access to state-of-the-art facilities, the latest technology and breakthrough therapies to provide your patients with compassionate, high-quality care.

It is an honor to lead this wonderful department and to be among an elite team of Buckeye surgeons. We hope that by reading this report, you get a sense of all the exciting work happening currently and what is still to come for the Ohio State Department of Surgery.

Thank you, and Go Bucks!


Dr. Timothy Pawlik headshot
Timothy Pawlik, MD, PhD, MBA
Chair, Department of Surgery
The Urban F. Meyer III and Shelley M. Meyer Chair for Cancer Research
Surgeon in Chief