Ballinger_Megan_460x460473 W. 12th Ave. Columbus, OH 43210

My lab focuses on innate immune cells, specifically macrophages and monocytes, in mediating non-infectious lung injury. In particular, we study Toll-like receptor signaling in regulating monocyte-to-macrophage differentiation and activation during homeostasis and in response to acute lung injury or allergic inflammation. A current focus of our lab is to understand the role of monocytes and macrophages in regulating extracellular collagen deposition during pulmonary fibrosis.


PhD: University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, 2007
BS: University of Toledo, Toledo, OH, 2002

Research Interests

  • Role of macrophages in lung injury and inflammation
  • Innate immune regulation of non-infectious lung injury models
  • Mechanisms of pulmonary fibrosis
  • Toll-like receptor signaling pathways
  • Role of macrophages in allergic inflammation in the lung


  • Jo Rae Wright Award for Outstanding Science, ATS, 2016 
  • InterMune Junior Faculty Fellowship, 2014 
  • Parker B. Francis Fellow, 2012
  • Internal Medicine Research Day Abstract Finalist, 2010
  • Keystone Symposium Scholarship Winner, 2009
  • Research Fellow for the Hartwell Foundation, 2008-2009
  • The Miller Fund Award for Innovative Immunology Research, 2005
  • Rackham Travel Grant, 2005
  • Graduate of University of Toledo Honors College, University of Toledo, 2002
  • University of Toledo Academic Scholarship, University of Toledo, 1998-2002
  • Sullivan Research Fellowship, 2000

Professional Activities

  • Committee member, College of Medicine Elections and Appointment Committee 
  • Committee member, Comprehensive Transplant Center Biorepository, Scientific Advisory Co-Chair 
  • Committee member, Members in Training and Transition Committee, American Thoracic Committee, 2016-present 
  • Committee member, Davis Heart and Lung Research Institute Education Committee, 2015-present 
  • Committee member, The Ohio State University College of Medicine Admission Committee, 2014-present
  • Committee member, Ohio State University Program Evaluation Committee for Pulmonary and Critical Care Fellowship program
  • Co-chair, American Thoracic Society, Allergy, Immunology and Inflammation Early Career Professionals Working Group, 2014-2017 
  • Committee member, President's Advisory Committee on Women's Issues, 2013
  • Committee member, American Thoracic Society: Allergy, Immunology and Inflammation Assembly Planning Committee, 2010-2013
  • Committee member, American Thoracic Society: Allergy, Immunology and Inflammation Assembly Membership Committee, American Thoracic Society, 2009-2013
  • Committee member, Graduate Student Affairs Committee, the University of Michigan, 2008-2013
  • Mentor for undergraduate student - Jacqueline Neagos, 2011-2012
  • President, University of Michigan Post-Doctoral Association, 2010-2012
  • Board member, University of Michigan Post-Doctoral Association, 2009-2012
  • Leader, Immunology Post-Doctoral Association, 2008-2010
  • Program chair, Immunology Student Association, 2005-2006
  • Student mentor, PIBS, 2004
  • Zambia Medical Mission Team, 2004
  • Representative, Program in Biomedical Science, University of Michigan, 2003-2004
  • Zambia Medical Mission Team, 2003
  • Representative, Honors Program, University of Toledo, 2002
  • University of Salford Exchange Program, 2000-2001