College of Medicine announces new chair of ophthalmology and visual science

The College of Medicine has appointed Sayoko (Sy) Moroi, MD, PhD, to be the next chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Science. Dr. Moroi comes to Ohio State from the University of Michigan, where she is the Jerome Jacobson Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, chief of the Division of Glaucoma and director of the Glaucoma Fellowship. She will join the Ohio State team in January 2020.

Capitalizing on a successful career

At the University of Michigan, one of the nation’s leading departments of ophthalmology, Dr. Moroi has strategically grown the number of faculty across sub-specialties to transform their care model to a collaborative co-management system. She has received multiple awards and invited lectureships, including the 2018 Robert N. Shaffer Lecture, which the American Academy of Ophthalmology awards to only one individual each year. 

With an overarching research goal of preventing glaucoma-related blindness throughout the world, Dr. Moroi has been involved in 40 different research projects that span patient outcomes, genetics, intraocular pressure variability and population health. Dr. Moroi has served as either principal investigator, site principal investigator or co-investigator on more than 30 funded studies from either industry or the NIH and National Science Foundation. She has published extensively, with more than 100 peer-reviewed articles in high-impact journals.

Dr. Moroi earned her MD and PhD at The Ohio State University in 1989. She completed an internal medicine internship at Duke University, an ophthalmology residency at the Duke University Eye Center, a research fellowship at Duke and a clinical fellowship in glaucoma at the Kellogg Eye Center at the University of Michigan.

We are delighted to welcome Dr. Sy Moroi back to Ohio State. She is an innovative leader and a talented researcher who will grow our ophthalmology program to one of the top in the country.