The Landacre Honor Society was founded in 1956 by Dr. Russell Hayes and Dr. Bernard Marks in honor of Dr. Francis Leroy Landacre, professor and first chair of the Department of Anatomy. Dr. Landacre’s original research was in neuroanatomy concerning the origin of cranial ganglia and neural crest cells of lower vertebrates. His exceptionally high standards in both academic achievement and research are the tenets of the society’s promotion and support of medical student research activities.

In addition to providing students with a variety of information about research opportunities at OSU, the society also organizes research conferences, host speakers, and holds the annual Graduate and Postgraduate Research Day, where students present posters and oral presentations summarizing their research to their peers.

In 2011, the Landacre Research Interest Group was created as a division of the Landacre Honor Society to further facilitate student research at OSU. The Interest Group and Honor Society have similar goals and the two organizations work together to coordinate research events. The difference is that the Landacre Honor Society focuses on recognizing outstanding student research, a feat typically achieved by third and fourth-year medical students, whereas the Interest Group is geared toward assisting first and second-year students pursue their research interests.

Requirements for Landacre Honor Society Induction

Membership is open to all medical students at OSUCOM who have demonstrated excellence in medical research, as evidenced by fulfilling the following criteria and completing the attached application. All applicants who fulfill the induction criteria and complete the application will be considered for induction into the Landacre Honor Society.

Qualifying Research (all must be met)

  • The data-gathering portion, at a minimum, of the qualifying research must be performed while the student is enrolled at OSUCOM.
  • Research performed while a student is on a leave of absence (LOA) for the purpose of performing research is eligible.
  • The qualifying research may be conducted at an outside institution, provided the student was enrolled at OSUCOM or on a leave of absence (LOA) for the purpose of performing research at the time the research was conducted.
  • The qualifying research must be original, hypothesis driven and related to a biomedical topic.

Qualifying Student

The qualifying student must have made a significant contribution to the qualifying research, as demonstrated by achievement of at least one (1) of the following:

  • Authorship of a peer-reviewed, published journal article
  • First authorship of a competitively reviewed abstract accepted for oral or poster presentation at a national conference
  • Receipt of a nationally competitive grant for the qualifying research


2019-20 Executive Board Members

  • President - Junu Bae
  • Vice President -Matthew Murtha
  • Secretary -Victoria DuBose-Briski
  • Treasurer - Dante Pezzutti
  • Executive Officer -Hussam Salhi
  • Executive Officer - Sarah Poland 
  • Executive Officer -David Allen
  • Immediate Past President -Ryan Zeh


2019-20 Interest Group Board

  • President - Sienna Wong
  • Vice President -Victor Chen 
  • Secretary - Alberta Negri-Jimenez
  • Treasurer - Rohan Shah
  • Executive Officer - William MacDonald
Resources for students

Resources for students