Dr. Margaret T. Nishikawara Scholar Awards

Dr. Margaret T. Nishikawara, PhD (professor and professor emeritus, 1989, The Ohio State University Department of Physiology and Cell Biology) served as a model faculty member contributing to the departmental mission through research, service and teaching. During her 35 year tenure, Dr. Nishikawara was especially dedicated to graduate student training and development. Her support for graduate students has continued beyond her tenure in the department through her establishment of the Margaret T. Nishikawara Merit Scholarship Endowment Fund in Physiology. By her direction, this fund continues her commitment to graduate student training by supporting the development of students pursuing a career in physiology.

In honor of Dr. Nishikawara’s devotion to physiological research and her commitment to graduate student education, the Margaret T. Nishikawara Scholar Award was established to acknowledge the accomplishment of outstanding graduate students training in physiology. Since 2010 this award has been presented annually in recognition of exceptional Department of Physiology and Cell Biology post-candidacy graduate students. Awardees are selected by departmental faculty review based upon the applicant’s scientific, teaching and service accomplishments over the past year. Awarded applicants receive a plaque, cash award, research funding support and the honor of orally presenting their research at the Physiology and Cell Biology Research Day in the Nishikawara Platform session. In addition the awardees names are inscribed on a plaque listing the names of all Nishikawara Scholar awardees located on the third floor of Hamilton Hall. The 2016 Nishikawara Scholar Award was presented to Jessica Chadwick by Drs. Noah Weisleder and Brandon Biesiadecki.