May 2020: Independent Student Survey Update

In the upcoming months, medical students serving on The Ohio State University College of Medicine’s Student Leadership Team will create a customized Independent Student Analysis (ISA), a component of the LCME reaccreditation process. The ISA will serve to share the student body’s thoughtful assessments, identify strengths and critique the medical education program from the students’ perspective. This comprehensive evaluation allows students and faculty to evaluate the institution’s strengths as well as providing a platform to enable earnest discussions of the school’s weaknesses. Student leaders will use the results of the survey to prepare an executive summary report. Faculty and medical school leadership will have the benefit of reviewing the ISA results and the report to complete their self-study, and also use it as a tool to facilitate changes where reform is indicated.

April 6, 2020: LCME Task Force and Student Leadership Team Formations Underway

In preparation for the March 2022 LCME reaccreditation site visit, The Ohio State University College of Medicine is in the process of forming a task force consisting of deans, medical school leadership and faculty. The task force will provide oversight for the institutional self-study process and subcommittees, which will culminate in the writing of a final self-study report. Medical students will also have an active role in the reaccreditation process. During the spring 2020 semester, a call for applications was announced requesting interested students to join Ohio State College of Medicine’s Student Leadership Team, whose members will draft the Independent Student Analysis (ISA) and also serve in integral roles on the various subcommittees. 

Feb. 15, 2020: Ohio State College of Medicine LCME Site Visit Dates Announced

The Ohio State University College of Medicine will host a site team representing the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME), the official accrediting body for schools granting an MD in the U.S. and Canada. As part of the re-accreditation process, the LCME has notified us that we will have a full reaccreditation site visit on March 20-23, 2022. Site visitors will meet with over 100 faculty, staff and students during the three-day visit. The visit will include various meetings, tours of The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, school buildings and the Health Sciences Library. Our last site visit was conducted in 2014 and we received full accreditation status. As part of the process, we will begin a period of self-study that will last approximately one and a half years. We encourage and hope all medical students, faculty and staff will actively participate in the reaccreditation process. The self-study process will allow Ohio State College of Medicine to assess the medical education program’s strengths and areas of weakness, and allow for constructive and positive change as we move into the future as one of the leading institutions in medical education.

July 1, 2019: Judith Westman, MD, has been named LCME Faculty Accreditation Lead (FAL)

Judith Westman, MD, will serve as Faculty Accreditation Lead for the 2021-22 LCME reaccreditation visit. Dr. Westman has served as the associate dean for Admissions, the associate dean for Student Affairs and the associate dean for Medical Education Administration within The Ohio State University College of Medicine, and has participated in three previous LCME site visits. 

Jan. 6, 2020: Sonia Mann, JD, has been named program manager for the LCME accreditation process and will serve as our survey visit coordinator. She will work with the Faculty Accreditation lead, Judith Westman, MD. Please be on the lookout for any emails coming from either Dr. Westman or Ms. Mann. They will be sending updates regarding the specifics of our timeline and coordinating faculty and student involvement.