Ohio State Navbar

Sign In

Carlo Croce, MD



Contact Information


1080 Biomedical Research Tower
460 W. 12th Ave.
Phone: 614-292-3063
Email: carlo.croce@osumc.edu

Education and Training

1969 Doctor of Medicine, University of Rome La Sapienza

Positions and Appointments

The Wistar Institute of Anatomy and Biology
1970- 1971 Associate Scientist, Philadelphia, PA
1971- 1974 Research Associate, Philadelphia, PA
1974- 1976 Associate Member, Philadelphia, PA
1976- 1980 Professor, Philadelphia, PA

The Carnegie Institution
1978- 1978 Sabbatical year in Don Brown's laboratory, Baltimore, MD

The National Institutes of Health
1979- 1983 Mammalian Genetics Study Section, Bethesda, MD

University of Pennsylvania
1980- 1988 Wistar Professor, Human Genetics, School of Medicine

The Wistar Institute of Anatomy and Biology
1980- 1988 Associate Director, Philadelphia, PA
1980- 1991 Institute Professor , Philadelphia, PA

Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
1987- 1991 Wistar Professor, Pediatric Medicine, Philadelphia, PA

Temple University
1988- 1991 Director, Fels Institute for Cancer Research and Molecular Biology, School of Medicine 
1988- 1991 Professor, Department of Pathology, School of Medicine 
1988- 1991 Professor, Department of Medicine, School of Medicine 
1989- 1991 Chairman, Graduate Program in Molecular Biology and Genetics, School of Medicine

Thomas Jefferson University
1991- 2004 Director, Kimmel Cancer Institute/Kimmel Cancer Center , Medical College

The Ohio State University
2004- 2018 ​​​​Department Chair of Molecular Virology, Immunology and Medical Genetics
2004-   ​Professor, Internal Medicine

Honors and Awards

1975 Research Career Development Award, The National Institutes of Health, Bethesda MD
1985 Outstanding Investigator Award,  National Institutes of Health, National Cancer Institute, Bethesda MD
1987 Scientific Award, American Cancer Society, Philadelphia Division
1990 Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award, Association for Cancer Research
1992 Eagles Fly for Leukemia Lifetime Achievement Award
1992 Scanno Prize for Medicine
1992 Outstanding Investigator Award, National Institutes of Health, National Cancer Institute, Bethesda MD
1993 Charles S. Mott Prize, General Motors Cancer Research Foundation
1993 John Scott Award
1994 Robert J. and Claire Pasarow Foundation Cancer Award
1994 Honorary Member, Japanese Cancer Association
1995 CLAS Distinguished Scientist Award
1996 National Academy of Sciences
1997 Rudolf Virchow Honorary Lectureship, University of Wurzburg, Germany
1997 Scientific Excellence in Medicine Award, American-Italian Cancer Foundation
1997 The Twenty-Fifth Solomon A. Berson Memorial Lecture, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine, NY
1999 Raymond Bourgine Award and Gold Medal of Paris
1999 AACR-Pezcoller International Award for Cancer Research, American Association for Cancer Research
1999 Herz Memorial Lecture in Cancer Research, Tel Aviv University
2000 Doctor in Medicine, Honoris Causa, Uppsala University, Sweden
2000 Honor of Merit of Italian Republic
2001 Clavius Award for Achievement in Science and Research
2002 Rod and Ceil Mortel Lecture in Cancer Research, Penn State University
2003 Italian Gold Medal for Public Health, Presented by President Ciampi
2003 President of the Republic Prize, Accademia di Lincei
2003 Golgi Lecture, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
2003 Foreign Member, Accademia Nazionale delle Scienze, delta dei XL
2004 Premio Beccaria, A. Serra Foundation for Cancer Research
2005 Gottlieb Award, MD Anderson Cancer Center
2006 G.H.A. Clowes Memorial Award, American Association for Cancer Research 

2007 The iwCLL Binet-Rai-Medal for Outstanding Contribution to CLL Research

2007 The Henry M. Stratton Medal, American Society of Hematology (ASH)

2008 Albert Szent-Györgyi Prize for Progress in Cancer Research

2008 ARC Léopold Griffuel Prize for a Major Breakthrough in the Field of Cancer

2009 Maud L. Menten Endowed Lectureship, University of Pittsburgh

2009 Orrin Ingram Distinguished Lecture, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

2010 The Ernst W. Bertner Memorial Award, The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center

2010 Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

2010 George and Lily Boxer Memorial Lecture, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

2010 Annual Nickerson Memorial Lecture, McGill University, Montreal, Canada

2011 AMP Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics 2011

2011 Fellow, American Association of Physicians

2011 Member, Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academies

2011 AAAS Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

2011 Weinman Foundation Innovation Fund Recipient, University of Hawaii Cancer Center

2012 Anthony Dipple Carcinogenesis Award, European Association of Cancer Research

2012 W. E. Keck Distinguished Lecture, W.E. Keck Center for Innovative Cancer Therapies, M. D.  Anderson Cancer Center

2012 Sebetia–Ter Award International Prize, Naples, Italy

2013 Foreign Member, Accademia delle Scienze dell’Istituto di Bologna, Bologna, Italy

2013 Recipient of the 2013 AACR Princess Takamatsu Memorial Lectureship, American Association   for Cancer Research

2013 Inaugural AACR Fellow of the Academy of the American Association for Cancer Research

2013 Health Prize of the Fund InBev-Baillet Latour, Leuven, Belgium

2013 The Eliezer Flescher Memorial Lecture, The Israeli Society for Cancer Research

2013 ICCNS – Springer Award, Nice France

2013 Juckett Distinguished Lecture – Vermont Cancer Center, University of Vermont

2013 Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors

2013 Distinguished Lecture – Frontiers in Oncology, Continuum Cancer Centers of New York and Beth  Israel St. Lukes-Roosevelt Medical Centers

2014 Chauncey D. and Elizabeth W. Leake 2014 Speaker Award

2014 Janet Rowley Memorial Lecture, American Association for Cancer Research, Philadelphia, PA

2015 Beckman Research Institute/Art Riggs Lectureship, City of Hope, Pasadena, CA

2015 Outstanding Investigator Award, National Cancer Institute

2016 Donald S. Coffey Lecturer, Soc. for Basic Urologic Research (SBUR) and the Soc. Of Urologic  Oncology (SUO) Joint Society Meeting, San Diego, CA

2017 Margaret Foti Award, American Association for Cancer Research (AACR)

2017       Giacchino Lecturer, Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center, Thomas Jefferson University

2018       Dan David Prize, Dan David Foundation at Tel Aviv University, shared with Prof. Mary-Claire King and Prof. Bert Vogelstein

2019       ECDO-Cell Death and Differentiation Award, Dresden Germany