Nationally recognized for clinical care in nephrology

Nephrologists and scientists at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center’s Division of Nephrology partner together to deliver top care to patients with kidney diseases and disorders. Our clinical care is nationally recognized, and our scientific efforts are internationally renowned. We’re committed to educating the next generation of nephrologists through our fellowship program in kidney diseases, and specialized fellowships in Adult and Pediatric Nephrology and Transplant Nephrology.

The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center is the major referral center in central Ohio for all subspecialties of medicine. Our clinical nephrology training is superb, due primarily to the large referral-based practice that draws patients from all over Ohio, as well as the contiguous states.

The Division of Nephrology and the Transplant Division work collaboratively in the Transplant Medicine Center to improve outcomes of patients with solid organ transplants. More than 200 renal, 50 liver and 50 pancreas-renal transplants are conducted each year by the Transplant Division of the Department of Surgery.

About Ohio State’s Division of Nephrology

The Division of Nephrology was created in 1968 under the leadership of Dr. Thomas Ferris. From 1968 to 1976, the division provided nephrology services to The Ohio State University and offered fellowship training for more than 25 postgraduate fellows, many of whom went on to successful careers in academic nephrology.

The Nephrology Division comprises 24 full-time faculty, two certified nurse practitioners, 10 fellows and more than 20 support and research staff.

Whether an Ohioan is looking for local treatment for a kidney disorder, or someone is traveling hundreds of miles for a specific procedure, top nephrology care based on the most recent discoveries can be found in Columbus, Ohio, at The Ohio State Division of Nephrology.