About our fellows

The Ohio State Division of Nephrology is committed to training the next generation of professionals in kidney care. We offer several fellowship programs that help students strengthen their knowledge of subdisciplines such as kidney and pancreas transplantation as well as adult-pediatric nephrology. Learn more about our fellows.

Nephrology Fellows

Third year - Med/Peds
Jessamyn Carter, MD

Second year
Karim Attia, MD
Kara Kaplan, MD
Dharika Shah, DO
Alka Tyagi, DO

First year
Madeline Chung, MD
Marie Fouad, MD
Omer Sheikh, MD
Luis Soto, MD

Gastroenterology Fellows

Third year
Samuel Akinyeye, co-chief
Matthew Bender
Andrew Kruger, co-chief
Kishan Patel
Ashley Nickerson - Transplant Hepatology fellow

Second year
Maryam Alimirah
Kenneth Allen
Wei Lu
Chelsea McShane
Elaine Shao

First year
Erin Bouquet, MD
Alyssa Drosdak, MD
Arsheya Patel, MD
Mohsen Pourmorteza, MD - Advanced Endoscopy fellow
Antoinette Pusateri, MD
Mitch Ramsey, MD - Medical Pancreatology fellow
Abirami Thiyagarajan, MD

Share this page