About the Program

The Laryngology Fellowship was established by L. Arick Forrest, MD, in the JamesCare Voice and Swallowing Disorders Clinic. The fellowship offers a diverse clinical experience with exposure to professional voice, neurolaryngology, laryngeal cancer, vocal cord paralysis, dysphagia therapy and airway stenosis.

Clinical fellows have the opportunity to work alongside speech language pathologists and participate in the Voice and Swallowing Clinic at Nationwide Children’s Hospital. There is an emphasis in surgical procedures including microlaryngoscopy, thyroplasty, injection laryngoplasty, tracheal reconstruction, Zenker’s diverticulectomy, cricopharyngeal myotomy and endoscopic treatments for laryngeal cancer.

There is ample opportunity for developing skills in office-based procedures including: 

  • Videolaryngostroboscopy 
  • Fiberoptic endoscopic evaluation of swallowing (FEES) 
  • Laryngeal EMG
  • Laryngeal BOTOX injections
  • Injection laryngoplasty
  • Transnasal esophagoscopy
  • Office-based flexible fiberoptic laryngoscopy with biopsy/LASER ablation

Application Process

Application materials must include:
  • A letter of interest
  • A complete CV
  • Three letters of recommendation

To apply, mail or email the above documents to the program directors, L. Arick Forrest, MD, Brad deSilva, MD, or program coordinator, Jamie Wohrer.

Jamie Wohrer
Program Coordinator

Eye and Ear Institute
915 Olentangy River Road, Suite 4000
Columbus, OH 43212

Our Faculty


Brad deSilva, MD

Director, Division of Laryngology and The Voice Center

Vice Chair, Education
Director, Residency Program
Co-Director, Laryngology Fellowship Program
Associate Professor - Clinical

View my bio

Forrest_L Arick_724x840

L. Arick Forrest, MD

Co-Director, Laryngology Fellowship Program


Brandon Kim, MD

Assistant Professor - Clinical


Laura Matrka, MD

Associate Professor - Clinical

Ramaswamy Apoorva 724x840

Apoorva Ramaswamy, MD

Assistant Professor - Clinical

Laryngology Fellows

Jacks_Amy 724x840

Amy Jacks, MD

Medical School: University of Texas at Houston
Residency: University of Kansas

Share this page