About the program

Since 1998, The Ohio State University Pain Medicine Fellowship has offered subspecialty training in pain management. The pain medicine fellowship is a 12-month program (July 1 - June 30) fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). Two positions are offered each year, providing multidisciplinary training in acute and chronic non-malignant pain and cancer- related pain. In addition, the fellows participate in rotations with neurology, psychiatry/ addiction medicine, neurosurgery, palliative medicine and either physical medicine and rehabilitation (PM&R) or anesthesiology. These rotations emphasize multimodal treatment approaches including physical therapy, medications, complementary and alternative medical therapies, psychological techniques, and interventional procedures. Fellows receive especially high numbers of neuromodulatory and advanced procedures per year including spinal cord stimulation, peripheral nerve stimulation, interspinous spacer devices, kyphoplasties, and intrathecal pump implants. Fellows receive training from core faculty from anesthesiology, PM&R, and neurology. The fellowship also offers protected research time to concentrate on a project of the fellow's choosing. The fellowship, under the leadership of the fellowship director, Kristen Noon, MD, offers a comprehensive and diverse opportunity to train at a world-class medical center.

This integrated, multidisciplinary pain medicine fellowship is focused at the OSU Comprehensive Spine Center. The OSU Comprehensive Spine Center is a collaborative effort involving the Departments of Orthopedics, Neurosurgery, Neurology, Anesthesiology and Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation where approximately 40,000 clinic visits occur per year. Approximately 6,400 procedures were performed in the last fiscal year. All surgical procedures are performed at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center.

Training Sites


The trainee must successfully complete a four-year accredited residency program in one of the following specialties prior to being accepted into the pain medicine fellowship:

  • Anesthesiology
  • Neurology
  • Psychiatry
  • Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Application Process

Application dates

  • Applications will be accepted between December 1st - April 15th for positions starting the next year.

How to apply

Please apply for the Pain Medicine Fellowship via the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS) for Applicants and register for the match with the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP).

For any additional questions, contact fellowship program coordinator Taylor Stein at Taylor.Stein@osumc.edu.

Current / Previous Fellows:

Karen Ren, MD (University of Rochester ANES)
Winston Singleton, MD (CWRU/ MetroHealth ANES)

Maria Grabnar, MD (CWRU/ MetroHealth PM&R)
Stephen Anderson, MD (Ohio State PM&R)

Dacey Stuber, MD (CWRU/ MetroHealth PM&R)
Collin Grant, MD (Ohio State PM&R)

Lucas Davanzo, MD (U of Pittsburgh ANES)
Michael Pettus, MD (Ohio State ANES)

Anthony Nguyen, MD (Ohio State ANES)
Neelay Thakkar, MD (Ohio State PM&R)

Jayesh Vallabh, MD (Ohio State PM&R)
Hisham Khan, MD (Ohio State ANES)

Daric Russell, MD (Ohio State ANES)
Matthew Gray, MD (Ohio State PM&R)

Our Leaders


Kristen Noon, MD

  • Program Director, Pain Medicine Fellowship
    Director, Multidisciplinary Pain Fellowship
    Assistant Professor- Clinical
    The Ohio State University
    Department of Anesthesiology, Pain Medicine