Meet Ohio State's team of cardiac surgery experts

The Division of Cardiac Surgery comprises a comprehensive team of surgeons and staff, all focused on delivering high-quality patient care, contributing to innovations in medicine and educating medical students and postgraduate trainees.

Our Leaders


Nahush Mokadam, MD

Director, Division of Cardiac Surgery

Nahush Mokadam, MD, is the director of the Division of Cardiac Surgery. He holds the Gerard S. Kakos, MD, and Thomas E. Williams Jr., MD, PhD, Professorship. Dr. Mokadam is an international leader in heart failure who specializes in heart transplants and ventricular assist devices.

Featured profile article

Bryan Whiston, MD, PhD

Bryan Whitson, MD, PhD

Dr. Whitson is Director, Thoracic Transplantation and Mechanical Circulatory Support for the Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center. He is also Co-Director of the COPPER Laboratory. Dr. Whitson is a cardiothoracic surgeon and professor of surgery.

Mark Galantowicz, MD

Chief, Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery, Nationwide Children's Hospital

Professor of Surgery
Murray D. Lincoln Endowed Chair in Cardiothoracic Surgery

View my bio

Our People

Our People

Administrative Staff

Our office staff are available at: or 614-293-5502

Michelle Rios
Assistant to Dr. Jovan Bozinovski and Dr. Nahush Mokadam (Director)

Jonda Thomas
Assistant to Dr. Asvin Ganapathi, Dr. Matthew Henn, and Dr. Bryan Whitson

Myria Jacobs
Administrative Manager

Michelle Rios and Jonda Thomas
Clinical Support

Sarah Neff
Academic Support

Janet Mazik
Residency Program Administrator

Monique Singleterry Wells
Residency Program Coordinator