Benjamin Kaffenberger, MD

Director, Dermatology Inpatient Consultation Service

Assistant Professor, Complex Medical Dermatology, General Dermatology

View my bio


Bianca McArrell

The Program Manager for the Medical Student Research Program, Bianca McArrell, has worked in research for more than eleven years and has been a research coordinator and program manager for two federally funded grants at Ohio State Wexner Medical Center. Faculty and students can contact Bianca McArrell for any inquiries regarding Medical Student Research.



Ginny Bumgardner, MD, PhD

Associate Dean for Research Education

The Medical Student Research Program is led by Ginny L. Bumgardner, MD, PhD. As associate dean for Research Education, Dr. Bumgardner leads the Medical Student Research Program and the Masters of Medical Science Program for residents and fellows in training at Ohio State.

Dr. Bumgardner's commitment to research education is based on the recognition of the value and perspective that her own scientific training provides her with regard to the care of patients, the fulfillment of pursuing novel research relevant to patients and the reward of interacting with and mentoring some of the next generation of biomedical scientists.

Advisory Council


Jonathan Davis, PhD

Assistant Professor - Physiology and Cell Biology

Dr. Davis has a PhD from The Ohio State University in biophysics. He is a member of the Integrated Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program (IBGP) faculty. His research concentrations are the biochemical and physiological mechanisms of cardiac and skeletal muscle.


Vidu Garg, MD

Associate Professor - Molecular Genetics and Pediatrics

Dr. Garg is a pediatric cardiologist and director of Translational Research at the Center for Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Research at Nationwide Children’s Hospital. The focus of his Research Laboratory is congenital heart disease and abnormal heart development in children.



Metin Gurcan, PhD

Assistant Professor - Biomedical Informatics

Dr. Gurcan is a Principal Investigator in the James Comprehensive Cancer Center. He serves as the current Director of the Clinical Image Analysis Lab. His research concentrations are in computer-aided detection and diagnosis (CAD) of cancer.

Darrell Gray, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor-Clinical

Dr. Gray serves as an assistant professor of medicine, director of Community Engagement and Equity in Digestive Health, medical director of Endoscopy and Gastroenterology Services at East Hospital and deputy director at the Center for Cancer Health Equity at the OSUCCC – James.



Samantha King, PhD

Assistant Professor - Pediatrics

Dr. King is a Professor of Pathology and faculty member of the Center for Microbial Interface Biology at OSU. Dr. King is also a Principal Investigator for the Center for Microbial Pathogenesis at the Pediatric Research Institute at Nationwide Children’s Hospital.



Michael Knopp, MD, PhD

Professor - Radiology

Dr. Knopp is the vice chair of research, Novartis Chair of Imaging Research and director of the Wright Center of Innovation in Biomedical Imaging. Dr. Knopp’s research has contributed to developments in new imaging methodologies with a special interest in MRI, PET and safety.


Somashekar Krishna, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor

Sections of Advanced Endoscopy and Pancreatic Diseases, division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center. Clinical Interests: Advanced Therapeutic Endoscopy. Research Interests: Solid and cystic pancreatic lesions, advanced imaging techniques (confocal endomicroscopy), endoluminal stent.



Peter Lee, MD, PhD, MPH

Assistant Professor - Cardiac Surgery

Dr. Peter Lee is a thoracic and cardiac surgeon at the James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute and Ohio State Wexner Medical Center. He specializes in Thoracic & Cardiac Surgery. He also speaks multiple languages, including French and Korean.


Kim McBride, MD

Associate Professor - Molecular Biology and Genetics

Dr. McBride is a professor of molecular biology and genetics in the School of Biomedical Science at Ohio State. He is also a principal investigator for the Center of Molecular and Human Genetics at the Research Institute at Nationwide Children’s Hospital and an Associate Investigator in the Doris Heart and Lung Research Institute at Ohio State.

Orlando Simonetti, PhD

Associate Professor - Internal Medicine and Radiology

Dr. Simonetti is a professor of biomedical engineering, Imaging and Internal Medicine in the College of Medicine and is the current director of cardiovascular MRI and CT research at the Richard M. Ross Heart Hospital. His research concentrations are finding new imaging techniques for categorizing and assessing components of atherosclerosis diseases.


Faculty Reviewers

Faculty Reviewers

Each scholarship application was reviewed by at least two faculty members; without their commitment to the program the research scholarship program would not be possible. We would like to thank each member of the review committee listed below.