Meet Ohio State’s team of emergency medicine experts

The Department of Emergency Medicine has a diverse faculty of over 40 physicians who engage in clinical practice, resident, medical student and allied professional education, as well as scholarly and research activities. Over half of our faculty are clinical educator faculty and are committed to education at a variety of levels. This includes education and teaching at the medical student level in our College of Medicine, residency and fellowship education and faculty development.

Department Chair

Jeffrey Caterino MD

Jeffrey M. Caterino, MD, MPH, FACEP


Vice Chairs


Diane Gorgas, MD

Vice Chair of Academic Affairs

Eric Adkins

Eric Adkins, MD, MSc

Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs


Daniel Martin, MD, MBA

Vice Chair for Education

Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine Residency Program Director

View my bio


Henry E Wang, MD, MS

Vice Chair for Research

Vice Chair for Research

View my bio

Medical Directors


Mark Conroy, MD

Medical Director, Main Campus ED

Michael Dick MD

Michael Dick, MD

Medical Director, OSU East Campus ED

Phillip Dixon MD

Phillip Dixon, MD

Assistant Medical Director, OSU Main Campus ED

Michael Purcell, MD

Michael Purcell, MD

Medical Director, Oncology Pod


Farhad Aziz, MD

Medical Director, Observation Unit

Daniel Bachmann

Daniel Bachmann, MD

Medical Director, Hyperbaric Medicine

Ashely Larrimore

Ashley Larrimore, MD

Medical Director, OSU Center for EMS

Sondra Shellman MD

Sondra Shellman, MD

Assistant Medical Director, OSU East Campus ED

Andrew Gathof

Andrew Gathof, MD

Assistant Medical Director, OSU East Campus ED

Our Team by Division

Our Team by Division

Nationwide Children's Emergency Services Team

Nationwide Children's Hospital houses a comprehensive emergency services team, including physicians and nurse practitioners.

Meet the team

Share this page