Grieselhuber_Nicole_724x840I grew up in Hamilton, OH, a small town about 30 miles north of Cincinnati. I earned a BS in biology at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, OH in 2003. I then enrolled in the Medical Scientist Training Program at Washington University in St. Louis, where I did my thesis work with Dr. Timothy Ley in the Division of Hematology. This research resulted in three peer reviewed publications and multiple abstracts at national meetings. I successfully defended my thesis entitled “The Role of Notch Signaling in the Pathogenesis of Acute Promyelocytic Leukemia” in 2010 and then returned to medical school to finish my clinical rotations. During this time, I tried to keep an open mind regarding my future specialty, but truthfully nothing else seemed as interesting as hematology!

By the end of medical school, I knew that I wanted to pursue a career in academic hematology, combining patient care with basic or translational research in myeloid malignancies. To do this, I knew that I needed to do my residency and fellowship at an institution with rigorous clinical training, strong established research programs and a commitment to training future physician scientists. Ohio State definitely fulfilled all the criteria.

Following my graduation from the MSTP in 2012, I began residency training in internal medicine at Ohio State. I pursued the ABIM research track and am very happy with this decision. I really appreciated the opportunity to streamline my training and have additional time during fellowship to devote to research pursuits. I am now in my second year of hematology and oncology fellowship. Following the completion of my clinical rotations, I joined the laboratory of Dr. John Byrd, in the Division of Hematololgy, to pursue research on AML. My current research interests include molecular mechanisms of leukemogenesis, pharmacology of targeted inhibitors and the application of genomic technologies to patient care.

Columbus is an enjoyable city in which to live and work. The cost of living here is very reasonable and there are many interesting outdoor and cultural activities. When I’m not in the hospital or the lab, you can find me riding my horse, exercising, cooking or spending time with friends.