Meet Ohio State's team of internal medicine experts

The leaders of the Department of Internal Medicine are committed to excellence. The department strives to provide compassionate, comprehensive and state-of-the-art personalized health care to its patients. The team is comprised of a wide range of the best general internal and specialized physicians.

Department Leadership

Jonathan Parsons, MD

Jonathan Parsons, MD

  • Executive Vice Chair for Clinical Operations

Philip Binkley, MD

  • Executive Vice Chair for Academic Affairs
    Professor, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
    James Overstreet Chair in Cardiology
Beth Christian

Beth Christian, MD

  • Professor of Clinical Internal Medicine
    Director, Hematology and Oncology Fellowship Program
    Vice Chair of Education, Department of Internal Medicine Division of Hematology

Susheela Tridandapani, PhD

  • Vice Chair for Basic Science
    Professor, Division of Hematology
Sharla Wells-Di Gregorio, PhD

Sharla Wells-Di Gregorio, PhD

  • Associate Vice Chair for Wellness

David Wininger, MD

  • Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program
    Associate Professor - Clinical, Division of Infectious Diseases

Division Directors


Electra Paskett, PhD

  • Director, Division of Cancer Prevention and Control
    Professor, Cancer Prevention and Control

Kathleen Dungan, MD

  • Interim Director, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
    Professor of Medicine

Georgios Papachristou, MD, PhD

  • Director, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition
    Professor of Internal Medicine

Dan Jonas, MD, MPH

  • Division Director, General Internal Medicine; Professor, Department of Internal Medicine; Endowed Professor, Health Services Research
Eric Schumacher, DO

Eric Schumacher, DO, MBA, SFHM, FACP

  • Director, Division of Hospital Medicine
    Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine and Pediatrics

Ray Hershberger, MD

  • Director, Division of Human Genetics
    Professor, Internal Medicine
    Professor, Cardiovascular Medicine

Susan L. Koletar, MD

  • Principal Investigator, AIDS Clinical Trials Unit (ACTU)
    Pomerene Professor, Infectious Diseases
    Professor, Internal Medicine

Claire Verschraegen, MD

  • Director, Division of Medical Oncology
    Professor of Medical Oncology

Brad H. Rovin, MD

  • Director, Division of Nephrology
    Professor, Nephrology
Jillian Gustin, MD

Jillian Gustin, MD

  • Director, Division of Palliative Medicine
    Program Director, Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellowship Program
    Associate Professor - Clinical, Palliative Medicine
    Physician, FGP - Palliative Medicine
Horowitz_Jeffrey 460x460

Jeffrey Horowitz, MD

  • Director, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
    Professor, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
JarjourWael Updated

Wael Jarjour, MD

  • Director, Division of Rheumatology and Immunology
    Professor, Rheumatology and Immunology
    Martha Morehouse Chair in Arthritis and Immunology Research
Julie Johnson

Julie Johnson, PharmD

  • Director and Principal Investigator, Center for Clinical and Translational Science
    Professor of Medicine
View Team by Division

View Team by Division