Ohio State Navbar

Sign In

College of Medicine Alumni Awards Program




18018 OSU COM-Awards group.jpg

2018 award winners with Medical Alumni Society Board President (left to right) top row: Michael Thase, MD '79, Carl Allen, MD, PhD '02; bottom row: Anne Taylor, MD '90, Roger Friedman, MD '77, Charles Levy, MD '89; Not pictured: David Bahner, MD (RES). 

 Alumni Achievement Award
Charles Levy, MD '89
Michael Thase, MD '79

​Alumni Service Award
Anne Taylor, MD '90

Early Career Achievement Award
Carl Allen, MD, PhD '02

Faculty Teaching Award
David Bahner, MD (RES)

 Read the full bios of our 2018 award winners here​.  

The Ohio State University College of Medicine Alumni Society presents four annual awards recognizing excellence in both the teaching and practice of medicine: the Alumni Achievement Award, the Faculty Teaching Award, the Early Career Achievement Award and the Alumni Service Award. 

Alumni Achievement Award
Created in 1947, the Alumni Achievement Award is presented to College of Medicine or resident alumni in acknowledgement of distinguished career achievements, both in contributions to the practice of medicine and to society as a whole. 

Created in 1959, the Faculty Teaching Award recognizes current College of Medicine faculty members that have made a significant contribution to the educational mission of the University and the College. Recipients can be either alumni or non-alumni. 

Created in 2009, the Early Career Achievement award is presented to an MD or resident alumnus who has made significant career contributions in the community or College service, scientific or academic achievement, within 10 years post medical training. 

Created in 2009, this award will be given annually to the MD or resident alumni who has displayed an extraordinary level of commitment and service to the College of Medicine or the Ohio State University Medical Center. 

Nominations are accepted early January through mid-February each year.