Ohio State Navbar

Sign In

2018 Alumni Award Winners

The following individuals were honored at the 2018 College of Medicine Alumni Awards Celebration on Monday, August 6, 2018. Congratulations to our 2018 Award Winners!  

​Alumni Achievement Award

Michael Thase, MD '79 

Dr. Michael Thase is a professor of psychiatry at the Perelman
School of Medicine of the University of Pennsylvania and the
Philadelphia Veterans Affairs Medical Center. While at The Ohio
State University College of Medicine, Dr. Thase was elected to
the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society, received the
American Medical Association’s Rock Sleyster Award for excellence
in psychiatry and graduated in 1979 with departmental honors in
psychiatry and preventive medicine. Before joining the Penn faculty,
Dr. Thase was a faculty member at the University of Pittsburgh
Medical Center, where he was one of the architects of the seminal
NIH-funded STAR*D and the STEP-BD studies, two of the largest
studies ever conducted to evaluate depression and bipolar
disorder. The current president of the American Society of Clinical
Psychopharmacology, Dr. Thase is a distinguished life fellow of the
American Psychiatric Association, a founding fellow of the Academy
of Cognitive Therapy, and a fellow of the American College of

Charles Levy, MD '89 Doherty, Dennis 005.jpg

Dr. Charles Levy’s career is marked by dedication to innovation in
rehabilitation. At the North Florida/South Georgia Veterans Health
System, Dr. Levy is the chief of the Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Service, associate director of the VA Center of Innovation on Disability
and Rehabilitation Research, and the director of the Rural Veterans
TeleRehabilitation Initiative (RVTRI). He also contributes his expertise in
telehealth to the Creative Forces: NEA Military Healing Arts Network, a
National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) collaborative that serves active
duty service members and veterans who have been diagnosed with
traumatic brain injury and psychological health conditions. The RVTRI
and NEA projects use telehealth to deliver traditional rehabilitation —
as well as arts, dance/movement and music — therapies directly to the
home via live streaming video. Dr. Levy is also an adjunct associate
professor in the Department of Occupational Therapy at the University
of Florida and a research scholar at Center for Arts in Medicine, where
he conducts research on the use of virtual reality to help veterans
with impairments in cognition and emotional control. In 2015, Dr. Levy
received the Paul B. Magnuson Award for Outstanding Achievement
in Rehabilitation Research, “the highest honor for VA rehabilitation

Early Career Achievement Award

Carl Allen, MD, PhD '02 

Dr. Carl Allen is co-director of the Texas Children’s Cancer Center
Histiocytosis and Lymphoma Programs, where his leadership and clinical
and research work in rare pediatric blood disorders has had a significant
impact in improving the lives of young patients in the United States
and across the globe. Dr. Allen leads a team of over 20 clinicians and
scientists dedicated to improving the outcomes of children and adults
with Langerhans cell histiocytosis, hemophagocytic lymphohistiocytosis,
pediatric lymphomas and related disorders. The seminal research from this
team has redefined the biological understanding and clinical approaches
to these diseases. After completing his MD and PhD at The Ohio State
University College of Medicine in 2002, Dr. Allen went on to a pediatrics
residency at Columbus Children’s Hospital. He completed his fellowship
in pediatric hematology and oncology at Texas Children’s Hospital and
Baylor College of Medicine. Today Dr. Allen holds leadership positions in
the American Academy of Pediatrics, the Histiocyte Society, the American
Society for Hematology and the Children’s Oncology Group. Most recently,
he was appointed to lead the research division for Texas Children’s Global
Hematology Oncology Pediatric Excellence program, which is developing
pediatric hematology and oncology services with partners in Uganda,
Malawi and Botswana.

Alumni Service Award

Anne Taylor, MD '90
Dr. Anne Taylor, or “Dr. T.,” as those close to her call her, is a
dedicated mentor to medical students, advocate for health care for
all Americans, and leader in the field of plastic surgery. As co-chair
of admissions for The Ohio State University College of Medicine,
Dr. Taylor works tirelessly to support and promote the college’s
commitment to a diverse student class and strong representation
of women in medicine. After she completed her MD at The Ohio
State University College of Medicine in 1990, Dr. Taylor went on to
complete a residency in general and plastic surgery at The Ohio State
University Hospitals. Her passion as a patient advocate has led her to
be a strong voice in all aspects of organized medicine both in Ohio
and nationally. She has served as president of the Columbus Medical
Association and on numerous committees for the Ohio State Medical
Association and the American Medical Association. She has served
as a member and board member of the American Society of Plastic
Surgeons (ASPS) and as chair of both its government affairs council
and political action committee. She completed her term as ASPS
board vice president of advocacy and health policy and since 2015, is
in private practice at Worthington-based Aesthetica Surgery and Spa,
which she founded in 2015.

Faculty Teaching Award​​

David P. Bahner, MD (RES) ​Curren (2).jpg

Dr. David P. Bahner, (RES), is regarded as a teacher and mentor to The
Ohio State University College of Medicine students and residents.
A professor of emergency medicine, Dr. Bahner has been a leader
in — and tireless advocate for integrating ultrasound education in
the medical student, resident and fellow training at the college for
more than a decade. He established an Ultrasound Academy at Ohio
State with multiple opportunities for learners to practice ultrasound in
simulated and clinical environments. He mentors numerous learners
and is recognized for including them in research projects that have led
to the publication of over 50 peer-reviewed manuscripts. He was voted
Professor of the Year by the College of Medicine Class of 2010 and has
been recognized by the Department of Emergency Medicine for his
teaching and research contributions, along with many other awards.
Nationally, he is the first emergency medicine physician to lead the
ultrasound section of the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine.
Dr. Bahner graduated from the University of Cincinnati College of
Medicine in 1995 and completed his residency in emergency medicine
at the Ohio State College of Medicine in 1998.